Vintage granny tote

In my stash I found a bag with some grannies waiting to be finished. The bag was made by me in the nineties. I don’t kngrannyshopper4ow how many years they have been lying in the bag, but it will be a very long time. In those days I had crocheted 9 granny squares with brown and green cotton. The project was totally forgotten. The squares pattern came from an very old stitch guide: “Mon Tricot 850 stitches and directions”. The guide is still used by me, whenever I want a nice stitch for knitting or crochet.

To revive the project I made an edge with red gold colored Catania cotton around the squares, sewed the squares together and made a pair of handles with dark-brown and gold cotton. The handles were reinforced with some thin rope. I made also a bottom and top. I lined the bag with a bit of cotton fabric and the last granny square was sewed on the lining to make a pocket. grannyshopper1
My vintage granny tote was finished. I Keep it to use as a small shopper.

Greetings, Elzeblaadje

 

Leave a Reply

